Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.


Briefing note on the new Government and other political developments

Date: 15/06/17

New Government and other political developments

Following the general election last week, the Prime Minister has now largely completed ministerial appointments to her new minority Government.

The DCLG Ministerial team

Sajid Javid stays as the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, but former Housing and Planning Minister Gavin Barwell lost his marginal seat and Alok Sharma MP has been appointed as the new Minister of State in his place. Gavin Barwell has been appointed the chief of staff to the Prime Minister at 10 Downing Street.

Mr Sharma is MP for Reading West. He is a chartered accountant who began his career with Coopers & Lybrand Deloitte and then worked for 16 years within banking, first with the Japanese firm Nikko Securities and then Enskilda Securities (the investment banking arm of SE Banken), where he held senior roles based out of London, Stockholm and Frankfurt, including serving as a member of the bank’s Corporate Finance Global Management Committee. In his constituency his campaigns show a lot of emphasis on transport and infrastructure, including improvements to local stations and the extension of Crossrail to Reading. His website states that he has worked with local campaign groups to fight “unsustainable development on green spaces”.

Elected to the House of Commons at the 2010 General Election, Mr Sharma served as Parliamentary Private Secretary at the Treasury from 2010-12 before returning to the backbenches. In 2015, he was reappointed as a PPS for Oliver Letwin at the Cabinet Office MP before taking up post as Minister for Asia and the Pacific in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office in 2016. During his time as a MP, he has also served as a member of the Commons Treasury select committee and a member of the Commons Science and Technology select committee.

Other Ministerial appointments at DCLG see Marcus Jones MP continue as the Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (PUSS) for Local Government and Lord Bourne as PUSS for Faith and Integration (and the DCLG representative in the House of Lords). Andrew Percy MP asked to step down from his role as PUSS for the Northern Powerhouse and Jake Berry MP (formerly PPS to Grant Shapps when he was Housing Minister) has been appointed as a new PUSS at the Department.

Ministerial appointments outside DCLG

Most of the main Cabinet positions remain unchanged following the election, but Michael Gove MP has been appointed as the new Secretary of State for the Environment and Liz Truss MP becomes the new Chief Secretary to the Treasury.

Damian Green MP has been appointed First Secretary of State with the role of Deputy Prime Minister.

Formation of the new Government

The Conservative Party is continuing discussions with the 10 Democratic Unionist Party MPs with a view to entering into a “confidence and supply” agreement with them. As a result of these discussions the date of the Queen’s Speech has been postponed from 19 to 21 June. The centrepiece of the new legislative programme is expected to be the Great Repeal Bill to transfer existing EU legal obligations in to UK law and provide powers to amend this legislation.

Labour Party Reshuffle

Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn MP has undertaken a limited reshuffle of his Shadow Cabinet to fill its vacancies. Andrew Gwynne MP has been appointed Shadow Communities Secretary.

John Healey MP remains Shadow Housing Secretary.

Liberal Democrats seek a new leader

Tim Farron MP has resigned as leader of the Liberal Democrats and there will be a leadership contest to find his successor.


John Slaughter, Director of External Affairs