Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.


Member Briefing: Theresa May finalises ministerial team

Date: 20/07/16

Theresa May finalises ministerial team

The Prime Minister earlier this week completed appointments to the new Government with major changes in both personnel and departmental structure that has seen the appointment of a new ministerial team to take forward the Government’s housing policy objectives. As Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, Sajid Javid MP will have ultimate responsibility for the new Government’s housing agenda, assisted by Gavin Barwell MP as Minister of State for Housing, Planning and London.

New Prime Minister, Theresa May has created several new departments and shuffled responsibilities between different portfolios and ministries. These ‘machinery of government’ changes include the transfer of powers around skills and apprenticeships from the now defunct Department for Business, Innovation (BIS) and Skills, to the Department for Education.

A new Department for International Trade, led by Liam Fox MP, has been created with overall responsibility for promoting British trade around the world. It will have oversight over UK Trade and Investment (UKTI).

The remaining functions of BIS have been merged with the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (DBEIS) responsible for ensuring economic growth around the country, maintaining energy supplies and supporting the UK’s global competitiveness. Sajid Javid’s predecessor as Communities Secretary, Greg Clark MP is the first Secretary of State for BEIS, allowing him to continue his interest in the economic vitality of cities and regions.

Elsewhere, the Prime Minister has created a new Department for Exiting the European Union (DEEU). Ex Shadow Home Secretary, David Davis is the Secretary of State.

The Department for Communities and Local Government responsibilities remain unchanged. In addition to Sajid Javid as Secretary of State and Gavin Barwell as Housing and Planning Minister, Marcus Jones has been reappointed as Local Government Minister while James Wharton has been replaced as Northern Powerhouse Minister by Andrew Percy. Comprehensive ministerial portfolios have not yet been confirmed but it is likely that Mr Percy will also take on responsibility for Building Regulations.

Rt Hon Sajid Javid MP is Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government. Following his election as Member of Parliament for Bromsgrove in 2010, Javid rose quickly through the ranks, first with two junior ministerial roles in George Osborne’s Treasury team before joining the Cabinet as Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport in 2014. Following the Conservative victory at the General Election he was promoted to Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills.

Aged 25, Javid became the youngest Vice President in the history of Chase Manhattan in New York. In the early 2000s he joined Deutsche Bank as a Director, serving in several roles at DB, including a spell in Singapore heading up the bank’s private equity businesses in Asia.

Gavin Barwell MP has been Member of Parliament for Croydon Central since 2010. Prior to his election he spent 17 years working for the Conservative Party both in research roles and in targeting electoral strategy. He was a Borough Councillor at Croydon Council from 1998 to 2010 and has held a number of roles within Government since 2010, including as Parliamentary Private Secretary (PPS) to the Secretary of State for Education. His role at DCLG encompasses responsibility for London making him the first Minister for London since Tessa Jowell under Labour prior to the 2010 General Election.


David O’Leary

Policy Director